OUT & PROUD STORIES focuses to T.R. KNIGHT


 

 

He is known as Dr. George O’Malley on ABC‘s top-rated medical drama Grey’s Anatomy, 35 year old  (born March 26, 1973) Emmy Award-nominated and Screen Actors Guild Award-winning American actor Theodore Raymond “T.R.” Knight affirmed his sexual orientation in  October 19, 2006 — after the mud slinging incident that involves two of his co stars including Patrick Dempsey and Isaiah Washington on the set of Greys Anatomy — when he released a statement through People magazine stating, in part, “I guess there have been a few questions about my sexuality, and I’d like to quiet any unnecessary rumors that may be out there. While I prefer to keep my personal life private, I hope the fact that I’m gay isn’t the most interesting part of me.”

 

Though the said issue was way past our bedtime stories, but it remains one of the most liberating stories in the gay community that keeps the rainbow flame alive and kicking.  Below is an excerpt on an interview with TR Knight published at http://www.foxnews.com last September 28, 2007.  At the bottom part of this post, you will find the clip (01/17/2007) wherein TR Knight appeared on The Ellen DeGeneres Show and stated that Washington in fact had referred to him as a faggot on the Grey’s Anatomy set on October 9, 2006.  Before the said appearance at ‘The Ellen Show’,  Washington behemently denied the accusation when Ted Casablanca of E! Online inquired the said verbal incident during 2007 Golden Globe Awards. Washington said, “I never called T.R. a faggot. It never happened.”

 

I bet no one really believe Isaiah.

 

 

 

 

TR KNIGHT TALKS ABOUT BEING GAY…

http://www.foxnews.com; September 28, 2007

 

NEW YORK    T.R. Knight says he’s evolved as a person since announcing last October that he’s gay.

 

“I feel I’ve learned so much this past year, so I’m grateful for that — so, yeah, that changes you,” the 34-year-old actor said Thursday on “The Ellen DeGeneres Show.”

 

Knight, who plays Dr. George O’Malley on ABC’s hit medical drama, “Grey’s Anatomy,” announced that he’s gay after it surfaced that Isaiah Washington had used an anti-gay slur against him during an on-set clash with a co-star.

 

Washington, 44, was booted from his role as a surgeon on the show after he used an anti-gay epithet backstage at the Golden Globe Awards in January while denying he’d used it previously on the set against Knight.

 

He publicly apologized and tried to make amends by meeting with gay-rights organizations and filming a public-service announcement calling for tolerance.

 

Knight said telling the world you’re gay isn’t an easy thing to do.

 

“Everyone has their own path,” he said. “You just have to respect that. I know a lot of people who make statements but you have to do it when it’s right for you.”

 

 

Knight joked that he’s dating someone very close to “Grey’s Anatomy” co-star Katherine Heigl.

 

“Recently Kate and her fiance, Josh Kelley, and me and her mom went out to dinner … and it was reported that it was with me and my new boyfriend. But that was really her mom,” he told DeGeneres.

 

So I guess I’m dating Katherine’s mom right now,” he quipped.

 

Leave a Reply

