GAY ICON: Loving LADY GAGA


i never doubted that LADY GAGA will be the next important pop star of the decade. her meteoric rise to stardom shows that her pure talent and knack for art delivers a powerhouse chemistry that the world has never seen before.

Lady Gaga thank her gay fans for her phenomenal  rise to fame and her early success as a mainstream artist.  She is now considered as one of the gay icons along with Madonna and Barbra Streisand. She claimed difficulty in the early stages of her career in getting her songs to receive radio airplay and stated, “The turning point for me was the gay community. I’ve got so many gay fans and they’re so loyal to me and they really lifted me up. They’ll always stand by me and I’ll always stand by them. It’s not an easy thing to create a fanbase.” Gaga thanked FlyLife, a Manhattan-based LGBT marketing company with whom her label Interscope works, in the liner notes of her debut studio album, The Fame, saying, “I love you so much. You were the first heartbeat in this project, and your support and brilliance means the world to me. I will always fight for the gay community hand in hand with this incredible team.”

True enough, one of Gaga’s first televised performances was slated last May 2008 at the NewNowNext Awards, an awards show aired by the LGBT television network Logo, where she sang her song “Just Dance.” In June of the same year, she performed the song again at the San Francisco Pride event.

When she appeared as a guest on The Ellen DeGeneres Show in May 2009, Gaga praised DeGeneres for being “an inspiration for women and for the gay community,” and while accepting the Best New Artist trophy at the 2009 MTV Video Music Awards, she dedicated the award to “God and the gays.”  She proclaimed that the October 11, 2009 National Equality March rally on the national mall was “the single most important event of her career.” As she exited, she left with an exultant “Bless God and bless the gays” similar to her MTV Video Music Awards speech a month earlier.

According to Gaga constitution:  before she even agreed to tour with Kanye West, Gaga told the rapper, “I just want to be clear before we decide to do this together: I’m gay. My music is gay. My show is gay. And I love that it’s gay. And I love my gay fans and they’re all going to be coming to our show. And it’s going to remain gay.” She also revealed during her OUT interview “I very much want to inject gay culture into the mainstream.  It’s not an underground tool for me. It’s my whole life. So I always sort of joke the real motivation is to just turn the world gay.”

i also think that she is the first singer who performed on national TV with a ‘boner’ attached in her costume.  Just watch her VMA Music Awards performance and you will surely be amazed with her courage and ingenuity.

Too much talking, here are her latest video from her new album ‘Bad Romance’, her latest performance at Ellen singing my fave ballad at this point ‘Speechless’ and her heart stopping performance at VMA.  enjoy!


Leave a Reply

